Turkey Meatloaf

I know! You are probably like great, meatloaf…moving onto the next blogger. STOP! Meatloaf was a new concept for me when I moved to the US, my parents are Mediterranean and we basically didn’t eat anything but that sort of food. So when John told me he missed having meatloaf every once in a while, I knew I had to do something – and I hated meatloaf. It was a dry loaf of meat, covered in ketchup – well no way was I going to let that happen in this household again.

I create a base that I add to ground turkey – I’ve also done it with a 50/50 mix of ground pork and beef. When John had it for the first time, he loved it, it didn’t need to be covered in extra ketchup, and it makes excellent moist sandwiches for lunch.

Turkey Meatloaf – 4-6 servings
1 large onion, chopped
2 tablespoons good olive oil
1 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dry thyme
2 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1/3 cup chicken stock
1 tablespoon tomato paste
2 lbs ground turkey breast
1 slice of bread, ground
1 large eggs beaten
1/2 cup ketchup

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

In a medium sautepan, over medium-low heat, cook the onions, olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme until translucent, but not browned, about 15 minutes. Add the Worcestershire sauce, chicken stock, and tomato paste and mix well, allow to cook for a few more minutes until thickened. Remove from heat, and allow to cool to room temperature.

Combine the ground turkey, bread crumbs, eggs, and onion mixture in a large bowl. Mix well and shape into a rectangular loaf on a sheet pan. Spread the ketchup evenly on top. Bake for 1 1/2 hours, or until the internal temperature is 160 degrees F. and the meatloaf is cooked through.

Serve hot, at room temperature, or cold in a sandwich with pickles and mayo.

Happy Cooking! Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

