Strawberry Raspberry Jam

My garden has been flourishing with strawberries – I wanted nothing to go to waste so I made jam. I didn’t quite have 1 1/2 lbs of strawberries, so I made up the difference with raspberries from my neighbor. Feel free to do the same! Also, it should be noted that I prefer my jam a little chunky, so I only mash a bit of the fruit (with a potato masher) – mash as much or as little as you like.

Strawberry Raspberry Jam – about 2 cups
1 1/2 pounds strawberries+raspberries
1 cup sugar
1 lime, juiced

Combine the strawberries, sugar and lime in juice in a saucepan. Bring to boil over medium-high heat, then reduce to medium heat. Mash fruit with potato masher, until it has your desired fruit consistency. Simmer vigorously until fruit mixture thickens like jam, about 20 minutes.

Transfer your finished jam to a jar with a tight fitting lid, let cool to room temp, cover and refrigerate. This jam can be refrigerated for up to 3 weeks.

Enjoy! (I recommend baking the cornbread recipe I posted recently, and spreading your delightful jam all over!)

One thought on “Strawberry Raspberry Jam

Leave a Reply

