Pawsicles

Happy Cinco de Mayo!
I know, you were expecting me to post a Mexican feast – well that’s the theme of tonight’s cooking class, so once my students have left I’ll put together the menu, recipes and post about it in the following weeks.

I decided that while sipping on a delicious homemade margarita, I would make my pups some pawsicles using their favorite flavors: pumpkin, yogurt and maple bacon. Too bad that when John came home from the gym I was out of the kitchen, and he decided the 4 last slices of bacon we had, that were perfectly crisp and glazed in maple syrup were a surprise treat for him. Soooo I was left with using Zuke’s Specifically the mini naturals rabbit flavor.

I hope your pups love these as much as mine do. And feel free to be creative, our Piper loves strawberry yogurt – so I use this instead with mashed bananas and peanut butter. Chandon thinks sweet potato and cheese cubes should be eaten so slowly, that he actually lays and licks the pawsicle slowly, until he finds cheese.

Pawsicles – about 2 cups
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup low fat Greek yogurt
1/4 cup low fat milk
2 tablespoons maple syrup (or honey)
1/4 cup treats, such as zukes mini naturals, cheese cubes, cooked bacon, carob chips

In a large bowl combine puree, yogurt, milk and maple syrup. If necessary thicken with more puree.

Prepare your molds by dividing the treats among each one. Pour the batter into pastry bag, and fill the molds, shake mold to even out, and add more batter if necessary.

Freeze for at least 2-3 hours. Temperatures does vary from home to home, but we keep ours at 0 degrees F. Remove from molds and serve in an area you don’t mind cleaning up after – we enjoy our treats on the lawn.

Leave a Reply

