Summer Raspberry Parfaits

My friend Karen introduced me to vanilla wafers – something I hadn’t had before. I though they would make a perfect crumb for my parfaits, honestly I usually use Oreo’s, graham crackers, or even animal crackers – but I had these on hand..and I will never go back.

This is the perfect end to a summer dinner. This recipe can be halved, and you will need 4 or 8 glasses. These are the kind I used, they are inexpensive, don’t mind going the dishwasher, and I don’t care if someone breaks one: glass

Raspberry Parfaits – 8 parfaits
12 ounces vanilla wafers
5 cups raspberries
1/2 cup Grand Marnier
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
2 teaspoons confectioner’s sugar
Freshly grated zest of 1 orange

Pulse the vanilla wafers in a food processor, to a coarse crumb.

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine 2 1/2 cups raspberries and Grand Marnier. Cook until the berries break down, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat, and cool to room temperature.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk, whip the cream on high speed for a minute. Sprinkle in the confectioner’s sugar, turn speed back to high, and beat until soft peaks form.

Add the 2 cups raspberries, and orange juice to the room temperature raspberry syrup, stir until combined.

Sprinkle about 1 tablespoon of vanilla wafer crumbs to cover the bottom of each glass, top with a tablespoon of raspberry mixture, and dollop of whipped cream. Continue to layer until you fill the glasses. Garnish with the remaining 1/2 cup of raspberries and sprinkle of orange zest.

Serve immediately!

Sorry there isn’t a photo, but you know it goes – guests get excited and gobble it before it hits the table – I can say that it was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

