What a crazy summer.

This week has been insane.  Besides studying for 2 quizzes and an exam, I had tons of work to do for the book.

Plus Adrienne came over – she’s the photographer for the book.  I had tons of food to make so I had two girlfriends come over to drink lots of wine and eat all the yummy food.  The pictures will arrive in about 1 to 2 weeks so I’ll post a few I don’t use in the book.  So for now a bird’s eye view of one of the menu pages in the book. 

And for this week’s recipe, since apricots are in season, I’m thinking Brown Sugar Apricots with Vanilla Ice Cream.

Brown Sugar Apricots – Serves 4
1 1/2 lb fresh apricots, halved and pitted
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
Quart of Vanilla Bean ice cream, store bought

Prepare a grill for cooking.  Combine apricots and brown sugar
in a large bowl, pressing sugar all over apricots, to evenly adhere.

Place an oven safe pan on the grill, add sugared apricots, cover with a lid.  Cook until apricots are softened and sugar has melted, about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat.

Scoop vanilla ice cream into 4 bowls, and divide apricots among bowls.  Serve immediately.

ALSO, on an awesome note, the book is complete for my part. I’ve typed and typed, fallen asleep at my computer, lost files so retyped, cooked almost every dish twice to make sure measurements are correct, edited, gained weight, edited more – and finally I’m just waiting on photos, drawings, and wine pairings.

I can’t wait to see the finished product. I will keep trying to update often, but with summer classes, exams and quizzes, I apoligize ahead of time for not posting it twice weekly.

Leave a Reply

